03.03.2022 #music #pop rock #release

Francis of Delirium releases new single, "The Funhouse", ahead of their 40+ date Global Spring Tour

Copyright : Pit Reding
2022 Global Project Grant recipient, Francis of Delirium, has shared a new single, The Funhouse, along with a fittingly disconcerting self-directed video (below). The band is currently touring in US in support of The Districts and have also announced a series of EU support shows with La Luz in May.

20-year-old Jana Bahrich (Francis of Delirium) has given voice to the angst and despair that plagues a generation facing an uncertain present and future since she first emerged back in early 2020 with the anthemic Quit Fucking Around.” This fervent lyrical quality along with the way she blends 90s grunge and present-day alt-pop, think Caroline Polachek and Charli XCX, has taken the Luxembourg-based artist’s music far beyond its place of origin. Signed to Dalliance Recordings (Gia Margaret, Wilsen, HighSchool), her two EPs, ‘All Change’ and ‘Wading’, along with most recent singles, “Come Out of Play’” and “All Love” has seen her win praise from Stereogum, The FADER, Paste, Pitchfork, The Line of Best Fit, Clash, 6Music, Radio 1, KEXP and NPR, to name a few.

On new single, “The Funhouse”, she depicts the chaos of life in 2022 in a way unlike she’s ever done before, attributing it with a hallucinogenic and dystopian quality. A keen artist – Bahrich paints, graffities, animates and practises Claymation – she took inspiration from Haruki Murakami’s “Kafka on the Shore” and Chaim Soutine’s palette in his painting “Carcass of Beef” when creating this surreal new work.

Speaking about the single, she said:
“The Funhouse is largely about how we are adapting to the chaos that is present in our everyday lives. The way it can feel that the world is crashing down around us and in order to protect ourselves, we become numb to the sheer terror of it all. Sort of like walking through a funhouse and attempting to remain unphased by the mayhem that surrounds you.”

The accompanying self-directed video portrays the absurd mix of panic and apathy that this chaos inspires.

The Funhouse is out March 3rd! It’s mixed by Jolyon Thomas (Royal Blood, Slaves) and mastered by Joe Lambert (Sharon Van Etten, Deerhunter).
The band’s US tour dates and newly announced La Luz EU support dates are listed below.


The Districts, North American support tour

9th March – HMAC, Harrisburg, PA
11th March – Mr Smalls Theatre, Pittsburgh, PA
12th March – A&R Music Bar, Columbus, OH
13th March – Zanzabar, Louisville, KY
15th March – Bottom Lounge, Chicago, IL
16th March – Turf Club, Saint Paul, MN
18th March – Bluebird Theatre, Denver, CO
19th March – Kilby Court, Salt Lake City, UT
21st March – Neumos, Seattle, WA
22nd March – Doug Fir Lounge, Portland, OR
23rd March – Treefort Festival, Boise, ID
25th March – August Hall, San Francisco, CA
26th March – Lodge Room, LA, CA
27th March – Casbah Rock, San Diego, CA
29th March – Valley Bar, Phoenix, AZ
30th March – MW Santa Fe, Santa Fe, NM
1st April – Dada Dallas, Dallas, TX
2nd April – Mohawk, Austin, TX
3rd April – Warehouse Live, Houston, TX
5th April – The Basement East, Nashville, TN
7th April – El Club, Detroit, MI
8th April – Horseshoe Tavern, Toronto, ON
9th April – Bar Le Ritz, Montreal, QC
10th April – The Sinclair, Cambridge, MA
12th April – Space Ballroom, Hamden, CT
13th April – 9:30 Club, Washington, DC
14th April – Warsaw, Brooklyn, NY
16th April – Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA
27th April – Baby’s Alright, Brooklyn, NY* headline show
30th April – Shaky Knees Festival, Atlanta, GA

La Luz, EU support tour

6th May – Oceanen, Gothenburg, Sweden
7th May – Hus 7, Stockholm, Sweden
8th May – Krosset, Oslo, Norway
9th May – Hotel Cecil, Copenhagen, Denmark
11th May – Molotow, Hamburg, Germany
12th May – Frannz Club, Berlin, Germany
13th May – Manufaktur, Schorndorf, Germany
14th May – Feierwerk (Hansa39), Munich, Germany
16th May – Rotondes, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
19th May – Upload, Barcelona, Spain
21st May – Dabadaba, San Sebastian, Spain

(press release by Dalliance Recordings)