News

22.04.2024 #biennale #contemporary #exhibition #visual arts

Inauguration of the project « A Comparative Dialogue Act », Luxembourg Pavilion at the 60th International Art Exhibition - La Biennale di Venezia

Selin Davasse © Riccardo Banfi, 2024

The Luxembourg Pavilion at the 60th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia was inaugurated on 18 April 2024 in the presence of H.R.H. the Crown Prince and H.R.H. the Crown Princess, Mr Eric Thill, Minister of Culture, H.E. Mrs Michèle Pranchère-Tomassini, Ambassador of Luxembourg in Rome and more than 400 Luxembourg and international guests.

The project A Comparative Dialogue Act by the Luxembourg artist Andrea Mancini, the multidisciplinary collective Every Island and curated by Joel Valabrega (Mudam Luxembourg) was conceived as an infrastructure for the transmission of sound – a shared production space that challenges the entrenched notion of individual artistic authorship.

Your cookie settings prevent this content from loading. To gain access, please
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen data-requires-vendor-consent="Youtube">

In his speech, the Minister said he was particularly proud to inaugurate a Pavilion that embodies values such as collaboration, dialogue and openness, entrusted to a brilliant generation of artists, curators and performers from Luxembourg and other nations.

By inviting artists from France, Turkey, Spain and Sweden, the artistic and curatorial team is developing an approach that fits perfectly with the theme of the Biennial’s international exhibition “Foreigners Everywhere”, curated by Adriano Pedrosa.

Performing for the opening days was artist Selin Davasse, following her residency which began on 8 April.

For the second consecutive year, Kultur | lx has curated the Luxembourg Pavilion, working hand in hand with Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean and Joel Valabrega, in charge of organising the exhibition.

This year, after a meticulous selection process by a national and international jury, Luxembourg is once again innovating by inviting a collective to express itself as part of the artistic competition that is the Venice Biennale. I’m really looking forward to discovering the sonic, sensual and performative atmosphere of the work of Andrea Mancini and Every Island, their collaborators and our curator Joel Valabrega. They form a team, with 4 guest artists from 4 different countries. For this singular project, the creative process is as important as the result. It’s a wonderful experience in these times of division and polarisation.” commented Bettina Steinbrügge, Director of Mudam Luxembourg.

The 60th International Art Exhibition – La Biennale di Venezia takes place from 20 April to 24 November. The Luxembourg Pavilion can be found at the Arsenale (Sale d’Armi, 1st floor). More information here.

Actualités

19.04.2024 #arts visuels #biennale #contemporain #exposition

Inauguration du projet "A Comparative Dialogue Act", Pavillon luxembourgeois à la 60ème Exposition Internationale d’Art – La Biennale di Venezia

Selin Davasse © Riccardo Banfi, 2024

Le Pavillon luxembourgeois de la 60ème Exposition Internationale d’Art – La Biennale di Venezia a été inauguré le 18 avril 2024 en présence de LL.AA.RR le Grand-Duc héritier et la Grande-Duchesse héritière, de Monsieur Eric Thill, ministre de la Culture, de S.E. Madame Michèle Pranchère-Tomassini, Ambassadeur du Luxembourg à Rome et de plus de 400 invités luxembourgeois.es et internationaux.ales.

Le projet A Comparative Dialogue Act porté par l’artiste luxembourgeois Andrea Mancini, le collectif multidisciplinaire Every Island et curaté par Joel Valabrega (Mudam Luxembourg) a été conçu comme une infrastructure pour la transmission du son – un espace de production partagé qui remet en question la notion bien ancrée de paternité artistique individuelle.

Vos réglages cookies empêchent le chargement de ce contenu. Pour avoir accès, veuillez
" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen data-requires-vendor-consent="Youtube">

Dans son allocution, le ministre s’est dit particulièrement fier d’inaugurer un Pavillon qui porte des valeurs telles que la collaboration, le dialogue et l’ouverture, confié à une brillante génération d’artistes, de commissaires et de performers du Luxembourg et d’autres nations.

En invitant des artistes originaires de France, de Turquie, d’Espagne et de Suède, l’équipe artistique et curatoriale développe un propos s’inscrivant parfaitement dans la thématique de l’exposition internationale de la Biennale “Foreigners Everywhere”, curatée par Adriano Pedrosa.

C’est l’artiste Selin Davasse qui a performé pour les journées d’ouverture suite à sa résidence débutée le 8 avril.

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, Kultur | lx a assuré le commissariat du Pavillon luxembourgeois, main dans la main avec le Mudam Luxembourg – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean et Joel Valabrega chargés, en tant que curateur, de l’organisation de l’exposition.

« Cette année, après un processus de sélection minutieux par un jury national et international, le Luxembourg innove une fois de plus en invitant un collectif à s’exprimer dans le cadre de la compétition artistique qu’est la Biennale de Venise. Je suis très impatiente de découvrir l’atmosphère sonore, sensuelle et performative du travail d’Andrea Mancini et d’Every Island, de leurs collaborateurs et de notre curatrice Joel Valabrega. Ils forment une équipe, avec 4 artistes invités de 4 pays différents. Pour ce projet singulier, le processus de création est aussi important que le résultat. Il s’agit là d’une formidable expérience en ces temps de division et de polarisation », a commenté Bettina Steinbrügge, directrice du Mudam Luxembourg

La 60ème Exposition Internationale d’Art – La Biennale di Venezia se tient du 20 avril au 24 novembre, le pavillon luxembourgeois sera à découvrir à l’Arsenale (Sale d’Armi, 1er étage). Plus d’informations ici.