Panorama

Theatre
©Patrick Galbats
Theatre

Theatre

The written and performed theatre in Luxembourg forms part of a tradition dating back to the mystery plays put on in churches, the commedia erudita, and the theatre staged at the Jesuit colleges in the 16th and 17th centuries. Yet it was not until the mid- to late-19th century that a genuine performing arts sector developed in Luxembourg, starting with the emergence of a handful of playwrights – such as Edmond de la Fontaine, known as “Dicks”, Batty Weber and Max Goergen – writing in Luxembourgish; their shows were often vaudeville and operettas, similar to those found in the boulevard theatre of Luxembourg’s larger neighbours. The second crucial development was the professionalisation of the sector in the second half of the 20th century.

Venues and institutions

These days, there are six theatres in Luxembourg.

There are two municipal theatres (similar to what are known as Stadttheater in Germany):
• First, there are the Luxembourg City Theatres (which bring together, into a single institution, the Grand Théâtre, on Rond-point Robert Schuman, and the Théâtre des Capucins, on Rue des Capucins, in the pedestrianised zone in central Luxembourg City). Tom Leick-Burns runs the Luxembourg City Theatres, working alongside his Deputy Director, Anne Legill.
• There is also Municipal Theatre of Esch-sur-Alzette, located on Rue de l’Alzette, in Esch. Carole Lorang is the Director of Esch Theatre.

The municipal theatres are publicly owned, with the bulk of their funding coming from the government of the municipality where they are located. Like all Luxembourg theatres, but unlike the Stadttheater in Germany (or in other German-speaking countries, where theatres operate a repertory system, featuring a resident company), municipal theatres are run under what is known as the “line-production” model, which means that the artists working there are all freelancers/casual workers, who are hired on a temporary basis, for the duration of a given project. For each production, the theatre therefore puts together a team around a director, who is often also the project sponsor; after the final performance, the team members go their separate ways to pursue other projects.

In a line-production system, like that used in Luxembourg, the shows on a programme are often only staged for a single season, even if they have been a big hit. In this system, it is difficult to extend a hit show because the artists who make up the team often have other commitments after the run has finished.

It is often suggested, in Luxembourg, that the country needs a repertory system with fixed resident companies, since people are frequently frustrated by how few performances there are of shows written in the Grand Duchy. In a country where the number of actresses and actors remains small, however, there are quite a few obvious problems with idea of putting together a resident company.

The Luxembourg City Theatres and Esch Theatre are what are known in German as Mehrspartenhaus, meaning theatres with several departments. The productions they stage are not only theatre, but also dance (various forms of contemporary ballet), opera, operettas and musical theatre, as well as theatre for children and younger audiences.

The Luxembourg City Theatres and Esch Theatre both have a dual purpose. First, they are what are known as “presenting theatres”, meaning that they host touring theatre productions. Second, however, they are also “producing theatres”, meaning that they put on their own productions too. The two institutions play an important role in putting on joint productions with theatres in other European countries, both in- and outside Luxembourg.

In addition to the two municipal theatres, there are four privately run theatres:
• The Théâtre National de Luxembourg (TNL), run by Frank Hoffmann
• The Kasemattentheater, run by a collective led by Lex Weyer
• The Théâtre du Centaure, run by Myriam Muller and Jules Werner
• The Théâtre Ouvert Luxembourg (TOL), run by Véronique Fauconnet

These four theatres are said to be run privately because they were founded on private initiative and belong, on paper, to non-profit legal entities. However, the term “privately run theatre” should not be understood as it is in other countries, such as France, where the shows put on in publicly run theatres differ greatly from those staged in privately run ones. In Luxembourg, the privately run theatres simply have a different funding model to the municipal ones; they actually receive their funding from the Luxembourg Ministry of Culture They are also known as “agreement theatres” because each has an agreement with the Ministry of Culture, which allocates them a certain sum every year for putting on shows.

The four agreement theatres also employ the line-production model, although it is noticeable that these venues often work with the same artists and that, every year, they stage one or two productions by the theatre’s own director. The privately run venues operate, with a few exceptions, more as producing theatres than as presenting theatres.

One notable difference between these theatres is the productions they stage. Like most European theatres, the Luxembourg City Theatres and Esch Theatre, along with the National Theatre, cast their net wide, putting on a mixture of classics and contemporary pieces in four languages: French, German, Luxembourgish and English. The Théâtre du Centaure and the TOL, meanwhile, focus on plays written by living, French-speaking playwrights (although the Centaure does give classic or another star billing in its line-up every season), with a sprinkling of ones written by Luxembourgers. For its part, the Kasemattentheater focuses on plays by living, German-speaking playwrights (or ones translated into German).

In Luxembourg, there are other venues and institutions that stage theatrical productions, in particular the regional cultural centres, mainly funded by the municipalities in which they are located:
• The Multi-Disciplinary Cultural Centre (CAPE), Ettelbrück
• The Mierscher Kulturhaus
• The Kinneksbond, Mamer
• The Kulturhaus Nideranven
• The Neumünster Abbey Cultural Centre and Meeting Place
• The Opderschmelz Regional Cultural Centre (CCRD)
• Cube 521, Marnach
• Kulturfabrik, Esch-sur-Alzette
• Rotondes, Luxembourg City (theatre for a younger audience)

However, these venues are multipurpose cultural centres and multidisciplinary institutions, putting on concerts, exhibitions, readings and workshops, in addition to theatrical productions. With a few exceptions, such as the occasional new shows put on by Mierscher Kulturhaus and the Kinneksbond, they do not create their own new theatrical productions.

Shows, aesthetics and themes

When all these venues and institutions are taken into account, there can be said to be, on average, 80-100 theatrical shows – a mixture of existing and new productions – staged in Luxembourg every season.

Some 40-50 of these shows are written (and produced) in Luxembourg, which does not necessarily mean that the whole team will be made up of Luxembourg artists. The intercultural nature of the Luxembourg theatrical (and literary) scene means that the teams brought together for new productions almost always include people of multiple nationalities.

On average, some 30-40 new productions are put on by Luxembourger directors (including Fabio Godinho, Frank Hoffmann, Marja-Leena Junker, Daliah Kentges, Rafael David Kohn, Sophie Langevin, Carole Lorang, Claude Mangen, Myriam Muller, Renelde Pierlot, Anne Simon, Jacques Schiltz) and around 10 of them are written by Luxembourger playwrights in Luxembourgish, French, German and, in a handful of cases, even English (Raoul Biltgen, Ian De Toffoli, Larisa Faber, Olivier Garofalo, Guy and Nico Helminger, Mani Muller, Guy Rewenig, Nathalie Ronvaux, Jeff Schinker and Elise Schmit, among others). It should also be mentioned that some of these new productions are staged by Luxembourg’s (few) independent theatre groups, such as Independent Little Lies, Maskénada, and Carole Lorang’s La Compagnie du Grand Boube.

The playwrights whose work is most often put on in other countries are Raoul Biltgen, in Germany and Austria; Olivier Garofalo, in Germany; and Ian De Toffoli, in France and Italy.

Shows by Myriam Muller, Anne Simon and Carole Lorang regularly have runs in Luxembourg’s neighbouring countries.

Since there is no theatre school in Luxembourg, artists go to study at the great institutions in France, Belgium, Germany and the United Kingdom, and then return to the country having soaked up those countries’ forms and aesthetics. That is why post-dramatic theatre might appear in season programmes alongside German Regietheater, the well-made plays typical of the English-speaking world, and other works from other traditions all over Europe.

Several recurrent themes and traditions can be discerned in the annals of Luxembourg drama, such as Pol Greisch’s analytical plays of the ’60s to the ’90s, which told tales of the stifling atmosphere of the Luxembourg petty bourgeoisie, and the dramas by Guy Rewenig and Fernand Barnich on social issues, such as the lives of labourers and steelworkers. Recent themes have been very varied, however, running the gamut from social and political issues, through documentary theatre and historical events to more personal issues.

Hamlet_Miriam Muller ©Boshua

Events and festivals

APPHUMAN_Ian De Toffoli / Sophie Langevin ©Boshua

The theatrical season in Luxembourg normally concludes with two festivals. The first of these is the Luxembourg City Theatres’ TalentLAB, an experimental festival offering young artists a platform for presenting a draft version of a project in development. The other is the Fundamental Monodrama Festival, whose programme is made up entirely of monodramas, one-person shows, monologues and other short productions.

On top of those, the Mierscher Theaterdeeg was launched in 2021. It took place at the Mierscher Kulturhaus and combined shows, readings and round tables on original Luxembourg theatrical productions.

Also in 2021, the first Theaterpräis (Theatre Award) will be awarded; every two years, prizes will be awarded for a complete work, a new talent, on-stage work on a new Luxembourg production, and back-stage work on a new Luxembourg production.

The Luxembourg THEATER FEDERATIOUN was founded in 1995. It counts as members, not only the six main theatres mentioned above, but also the regional cultural centres, independent dance and theatre groups and the professional association for freelance theatre professionals. The THEATER FEDERATIOUN website also offers an overview of the programmes of all of Luxembourg’s theatrical venues. Another aspect of the mission of the THEATER FEDERATIOUN is to enable new Luxembourg productions to take part, during the year after they were first staged, in the Festival d’Avignon.

Ei, ei, ei Luisa Bevilacqua / Linda Bonvini ©MikeZenari

Institute for the Luxembourgish Language and its Literature

Contraction_s_Nathalie Ronvaux / Stéphane Ghislain Roussel

There is a noticeable absence of Luxembourger authors (writing in any language) and directors from school textbooks. However, it should be pointed out that the University of Luxembourg has a specialist master’s programme on the Luxembourgish language and its literature, offered by the Institute for the Luxembourgish Language and its Literature; part of that course is a module on the history of drama in Luxembourgish.

Ian de Toffoli, writer and university researcher
May 2021

Panorama

Théâtre
©Patrick Galbats
Théâtre

Théâtre

Même si le théâtre écrit et joué au Luxembourg connaît une tradition qui remonte aux mystères montrés dans les églises et au théâtre érudit des collèges jésuites du 16e et 17e siècle, il faut attendre, premièrement, l’arrivée d’une poignée d’auteurs qui écrivent des pièces en luxembourgeois – souvent du vaudeville et des opérettes, du même type de ceux qu’on trouvait sur les scènes de boulevard dans les grands pays voisins – vers le milieu et la fin du 19e siècle, comme Edmond de la Fontaine, dit Dicks, Batty Weber, ou encore Max Goergen, et, deuxièmement, la mise en place d’une infrastructure professionnelle, dans la deuxième moitié du 20e siècle, pour que se développe un véritable secteur du spectacle vivant au Luxembourg.

Lieux et institutions

Aujourd’hui ce secteur du théâtre peut être décrit comme suit : Sur le territoire du Luxembourg, il y a six théâtres.

Deux théâtres municipaux, ce qu’on appelle en allemand des Stadttheater, qui sont :

• Premièrement, Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg (qui regroupent en une seule institution le Grand Théâtre, au Rond-Point Schumann, et le Théâtre des Capucins, dans la rue du même nom, dans la zone piétonne du centre de Luxembourg Ville). Tom Leick-Burns dirige des Théâtres de la Ville, avec sa directrice adjointe Anne Legill.

• le Théâtre Municipal d’Esch-sur-Alzette, située dans la rue de l’Alzette de la ville d’Esch. Carole Lorang est la directrice du théâtre d’Esch.

Les théâtres municipaux sont des théâtres publics, financés à majeure partie par la commune où ils sont implantés. Comme tous les théâtres luxembourgeois, mais contrairement aux Stadttheater en Allemagne (ou dans d’autres pays germanophones, où les théâtres fonctionnent par un système d’ensemble et de répertoire), les théâtres municipaux connaissent un système d’exploitation qu’on appelle le système « en-suite », ce qui veut dire que les artistes qui y travaillent sont tous indépendants/intermittents du spectacle, sous contrat de façon ponctuelle, le temps d’un projet. Pour chaque production, le théâtre forme donc une équipe autour d’un metteur en scène, qui est souvent le porteur du projet, et après la dernière représentation, l’équipe se dissout afin de poursuivre d’autre projets.

Dans un système « en-suite » comme celui du Luxembourg, les pièces au programme ne sont souvent montrées qu’au cours d’une seule saison, même si elles ont connu un grand succès. Il est difficile, dans ce système, de prolonger une pièce à succès, car souvent les artistes qui composent l’équipe ont d’autres engagements par la suite.

Régulièrement, la question du besoin d’un système de répertoire et d’ensembles fixes se pose au Luxembourg, provoquée par une frustration qui vient du nombre peu élevé de dates de représentations des créations nationales, mais dans un pays où le nombre de comédiennes et de comédiens n’est déjà pas très élevé, créer un ensemble ne serait pas sans problèmes évidents.

Les Théâtres de la Ville ainsi que le Théâtre d’Esch sont ce qu’on appelle des Mehrspartenhaus, c’est-à-dire des théâtres à plusieurs sections : ces lieux ne montrent pas seulement du théâtre, mais également de la danse (du ballet aux formes contemporaines), et du théâtre musical, des opéras, des comédies musicales, des opérettes, ainsi que du théâtre pour enfants et jeune public.

Les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg et le Théâtre d’Esch ont tous les deux une double mission, à savoir, d’un côté, celle d’être une maison d’accueil, c’est-à-dire un théâtre qui accueille, donc, des productions de théâtre qui sont en tournée. Mais d’un autre côté, ces deux institutions produisent également leurs propres créations. Mais les deux institutions ont également un rôle important à jouer, au niveau européen, en tant que coproducteur international de pièces, créées ou bien chez eux ou à l’étranger.

A côté des deux théâtres municipaux, il y a quatre théâtres privés :
• le Théâtre national de Luxembourg (TNL), dirigé par Frank Hoffmann
• le Kasemattentheater, dirigé par un collectif autour de Lex Weyer
• le Théâtre du Centaure, dirigé par Myriam Muller et Jules Werner
• le Théâtre Ouvert Luxembourg (TOL), dirigée par Véronique Fauconnet

Ces quatre théâtres sont dits privés, parce qu’ils doivent leur fondation à une initiative privée, et appartiennent, sur papier, à une personne juridique, une asbl. Il ne faut pas comprendre, au Luxembourg, l’expression de « théâtre privé » comme en France, où les théâtres publics et privés se distinguent également dans leur programmation. Au Luxembourg, les théâtres privés bénéficient tout simplement d’un autre financement que les théâtres municipaux, ils reçoivent en effet leur budget du ministère de la Culture. On les appelle également les théâtres conventionnés, parce qu’ils ont une convention avec le ministère de la Culture qui leur alloue donc chaque année un certain montant pour développer leur programmation.

Les quatre théâtres conventionnés fonctionnent également selon le système dit « en-suite », même si on peut remarquer que ces lieux travaillent souvent avec les mêmes artistes et qu’on peut y aller voir, chaque saison, au moins une à deux mises en scène du directeur du lieu même. Les théâtres privés sont, par contre, sauf quelques exceptions, plus des lieux de création que d’accueil.

Une différence notable entre ces maisons se trouve dans leur programmation. Si les Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg, le Théâtre d’Esch, ainsi que le Théâtre national s’orientent sur une programmation qui brasse large, comme le font la plupart des grandes institutions théâtrales européennes, montrant un mélange de classiques et de contemporains, et cela en quatre langues (français, allemand, luxembourgeois, anglais), le Théâtre du Centaure et le TOL se concentrent sur des pièces d’auteurs francophones vivants (même s’il arrive au Centaure de faire la part belle à l’un ou l’autre grand classique par saison), avec une place faite aux pièces luxembourgeoises de temps à autre, tandis que le Kasemattentheater se focalise sur les auteurs germanophones (ou les œuvres traduites en allemand) d’auteurs vivants.

Il existe d’autres lieux et institutions qui montrent du théâtre, au Luxembourg, notamment les centres culturels régionaux, financés majoritairement par les communes où ils sont installés :
• le Centre des Arts Pluriels à Ettelbruck
• le Mierscher Kulturhaus
• le Kinneksbond de Mamer
• le Kulturhaus Nideranven
• le Centre Culturel de Rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster
• le Centre Culturel Op der Schmelz de Dudelange
• le Cube 521 de Marnich
• la Kulturfabrik d’Esch-sur-Alzette
• les Rotondes à Luxembourg Ville (programmation jeune public)

Ces lieux sont cependant des centres culturels polyvalents, ainsi que des institutions pluridisciplinaires, programmant non seulement du théâtre, mais également des concerts, des expositions, des lectures et des ateliers. Leur mission n’est pas celle de la création théâtrale, à quelques exceptions près, comme le Mierscher Kulturhaus ou le Kinneksbond de Mamer, à qui il arrive de créer des spectacles.

Spectacles, esthétiques, thématiques

En considérant l’ensemble de ces lieux et institutions, on peut constater qu’il y a, en moyenne, entre 80 et 100 spectacles de théâtres programmés sur les scènes luxembourgeoises, créations et accueils confondus, par saison théâtrale.

Entre 40 et 50 de ces spectacles sont des créations (ainsi que des productions) nationales, ce qui ne signifie pas nécessairement que l’ensemble de l’équipe ne soit constitué que d’artistes luxembourgeois. Le caractère interculturel du milieu théâtral (et littéraire) luxembourgeois fait en sorte que les équipes qui se forment autour de projets de création sont presque toujours des équipes internationales.

En moyenne, environ 30 à 40 de ces créations sont mises en scène par des metteur.e.s en scènes luxembourgeois (Fabio Godinho, Frank Hoffmann, Marja-Lena Junker, Daliah Kentges, Rafael David Kohn, Sophie Langevin, Carole Lorang, Claude Mangen, Myriam Muller, Renelde Pierlot, Anne Simon, Jacques Schiltz et autres) et plus ou moins 10 d’entre elles sont écrites par des autrices et auteurs luxembourgeois (Raoul Biltgen, Ian De Toffoli, Larisa Faber, Olivier Garofalo, Guy et Nico Helminger, Mani Muller, Guy Rewenig, Nathalie Ronvaux, Jeff Schinker, Elise Schmit, et autres) en luxembourgeois, français, allemand et même, quoique minoritairement, en anglais. Il faut également mentionner que certaines de ces créations sont produites par les (plus rares) compagnies de théâtre au Luxembourg, comme Independent Little Lies, Maskénada, la compagnie du grand Boube, autour de Carole Lorang.

Les auteurs luxembourgeois les plus joués actuellement sur les scènes internationales sont Raoul Biltgen, en Allemagne et Autriche, Olivier Garofalo, en Allemagne, et Ian De Toffoli, en France et en Italie.

Les spectacles de Myriam Muller, Anne Simon ou encore Carole Lorang connaissent régulièrement des tournées dans nos pays voisins.

Comme il n’y a pas d’école de théâtre au Luxembourg, les artistes suivent des formations dans les grandes écoles de France, Belgique, Allemagne, Angleterre et reviennent au pays, imprégnés des formes et esthétiques des différents pays, ce qui explique qu’au niveau des mises en scène, il possible de voir se côtoyer des pièces post-dramatiques, du Regietheater allemand, des well-made plays du monde anglo-saxon et autres traditions de l’Europe entière.

Si, dans l’histoire du drame luxembourgeois, il est possible de distinguer plusieurs thématiques et traditions récurrentes, comme les drames analytiques de Pol Greisch, des années 60-90, qui racontaient le milieu étriqué de la petite bourgeoisie luxembourgeoise, les drames sociaux, ouvriers voire sidérurgistes de Guy Rewenig ou de Fernand Barnich, les thématiques récentes sont très variées, allant d’un théâtre socio-politique, documentaire, historique, jusqu’au théâtre plus intime.

Hamlet_Miriam Muller ©Boshua

Evénements et festivals

APPHUMAN_Ian De Toffoli / Sophie Langevin ©Boshua

La saison théâtrale du Luxembourg se finit habituellement par deux festivals, qui sont, d’un côté, le TalentLAB des Théâtres de la Ville, une plateforme expérimentale offrant à des jeunes artistes la possibilité de présenter une maquette d’un projet en cours, et de l’autre le Fundamental Monodrama Festival, un festival qui programme exclusivement des monodrames, seuls-en-scène, monologues et autres courtes formes.

A cela s’ajoute, depuis sa création en 2021, le Mierscher Theater Deeg, qui a lieu au Mierscher Kulturhaus, et qui réunit spectacles, lectures et table rondes autour de la création théâtrale luxembourgeoise.

En 2021 a également lieu la première édition du Theaterpräis (Prix du théâtre), qui récompensera dorénavant, et ce biannuellement, une œuvre complète, un jeune espoir, une création nationale on stage et une création backstage.

Il existe une Fédération des théâtres, depuis 1995, qui regroupe sous son égide non seulement les six théâtres mentionnés, mais également les centres culturels régionaux, les compagnies de danse et de théâtre, ainsi que différentes associations à visée syndicale. Le site internet de cette Fédération offre également une vue d’ensemble de la programmation théâtrale des scènes luxembourgeoises. C’est également la mission de la Fédération des théâtres de permettre à une création luxembourgeoise de participer, l’année après sa création, au Festival d’Avignon.

Ei, ei, ei Luisa Bevilacqua / Linda Bonvini ©MikeZenari

Institut de langues et de littérature luxembourgeoise

Contraction_s_Nathalie Ronvaux / Stéphane Ghislain Roussel

Il y a un vrai manque à constater au niveau de la présence des autrices et auteurs luxembourgeois (toutes langues confondues), ainsi que celle des metteur.es en scène luxembourgeois, dans les manuels scolaires, mais il est intéressant de noter qu’à l’Université du Luxembourg, il existe un Master spécialisé en langue et littératures luxembourgeoises, proposé par l’Institut de langues et de littérature luxembourgeoise, au sein duquel se tient un cours en Histoire du drame luxembourgeois.

Ian de Toffoli, écrivain et chercheur universitaire
Mai 2021