With this Call for Composition Proposals, the Butterfly Project intends to identify and select three composers, to write a three acts opera, in Italian, Polish and Finnish, dedicated to the theme of environmental sustainability. The opera is to be commissioned by Teatro Comunale di Modena (Italy), Opera Bałtycka, (Gdansk, Poland) and Opera Box (Helsinki, Finland).

The opera created within PROJECT BUTTERFLY will combine three acts of thirty minutes each (one for each country), made up of three stories dedicated to an environmental theme: water, earth and air. The co-production will involve three composers, one from each project partner’s opera house.

The conception of the work will begin with a co-creation phase implemented by high school students in three partners’ countries – Italy, Poland and Finland. The selected authors of the opera will work hand-in-hand with the creative team and the artistic directors of the project within two artistic residencies in Italy and Poland. Finally, after two years of work, the project will culminate, in May 2025, in the premiere of the newly created opera in the partner theatres and online. The final production will strongly rely on advanced digital technologies and showcase the pathways for a more sustainable opera production.

The opera will be written after 2 co-creation cycle of webinars with high school students.

The first cycle of webinars will help students to find a subject for the opera: environment Agencies and experts in every city of each theatre partner will provide knowledge to the students helping to find subjects suitable for writing a story.

The second cycle of webinars will guide the students into the creative writing of a story. The literary author (lyricist) from each theatre will help each group of students to turn its subject into a story suitable for an opera libretto. The opera lyricists will turn the story into a libretto.

This Call is addressed to music composers who, at the time of application, fulfill the following requirements:

The selection will be mainly based upon the quality of the composition presented, as detailed below. However, the Selection Committee may consider a supplementary merit the specific experience or connection of the applicant within the musical scenes of Italy, Poland or Finland, including performances in its theaters.  The personal experience of the candidate will be assessed in order to evaluate his/her ability to best participate in the project and in its related activities.

Application deadline: 17 September 2023

Kultur | lx – Arts Council Luxembourg, in partnership with the Cité internationale des arts in Paris, offers a three-month research and creation residency based on a call for applications to artists of all disciplines of Luxembourg nationality or living in Luxembourg. This residency program aims to allow an artist, author, dancer, choreographer or musician to carry out a personal research and creation project. The project will preferably be carried out in conjunction with a partner institution, or a structure, or an artist, identified in Paris and its agglomeration. This stay, which is for the artist a privileged moment of reflection and creation, will contribute to the visibility of the Luxembourgish artistic scene in Paris.

The Cité internationale des arts is an artists’ residency in the heart of Paris that brings together creators and allows them to implement a production or research project in all disciplines. For periods of two months to a year, the Cité internationale des arts offers an environment conducive to creation, open to meetings with professionals from the cultural sector. Residents benefit from customized support from the Cité internationale des arts team. In the Marais (18 rue de l’Hôtel de Ville, 75004 Paris) or in Montmartre (24 rue Norvins, 75018 Paris), the residency also provides an opportunity to meet and dialogue with more than 300 artists and actors from the art world of all generations, all nationalities and all disciplines. In collaboration with its many partners, the Cité internationale des arts opens several thematic and/or project-based calls for applications throughout the year.

Deadline for submissions: 13 February 2022.

In 2022, we welcome the seventh TalentLAB. Since launching in 2016, it has established itself as a pillar of the Théâtres de la Ville’s artist development programme and has become anessential date for emerging talent.

TalentLAB 2022, held from June 2 to 12, 2022, aims to provoke encounters, encourage dialogue between disciplines and stimulate discussion between artists andaudiences. As it coincides with Luxembourg City’s presidency of QuattroPole, the 2022 edition will also be an opportunity to bring together partners from Trier, Saarbrücken and Metz, and shine a light on the Greater Region.

Deadline for submissions : 12 November 2021

Avec cet appel à propositions de composition, le projet Butterfly a l’intention d’identifier et de sélectionner trois compositeurs pour écrire un opéra en trois actes, en italien, polonais et finlandais, dédié au thème de la durabilité environnementale. L’opéra sera commandé par le Teatro Comunale di Modena (Italie), l‘Opera Bałtycka (Gdansk, Pologne) et l’Opera Box (Helsinki, Finlande).

L’opéra créé dans le cadre du PROJET BUTTERFLY comprendra trois actes de trente minutes chacun (un pour chaque pays), composés de trois histoires consacrées à un thème environnemental : l’eau, la terre et l’air. La coproduction impliquera trois compositeurs, un de la maison d’opéra de chaque partenaire du projet.

La conception de l’œuvre débutera par une phase de co-création mise en œuvre par des lycéens dans les trois pays partenaires – l’Italie, la Pologne et la Finlande. Les auteurs sélectionnés pour l’opéra travailleront en étroite collaboration avec l’équipe de création et les directeurs artistiques du projet dans le cadre de deux résidences artistiques en Italie et en Pologne. Enfin, après deux ans de travail, le projet aboutira, en mai 2025, à la première de l’opéra nouvellement créé dans les théâtres partenaires et en ligne. La production finale s’appuiera fortement sur les technologies numériques avancées et présentera les voies d’une production d’opéra plus durable.

L’opéra sera écrit après deux cycles de webinaires de co-création avec des lycéens.

Le premier cycle de webinaires aidera les élèves à trouver un sujet pour l’opéra : des agences environnementales et des experts dans chaque ville de chaque théâtre partenaire apporteront leurs connaissances aux élèves en les aidant à trouver des sujets adaptés à l’écriture d’une histoire.

Le deuxième cycle de webinaires guidera les étudiants dans l’écriture créative d’une histoire. L’auteur littéraire (parolier) de chaque théâtre aidera chaque groupe d’étudiants à transformer son sujet en une histoire adaptée à un livret d’opéra. Les paroliers de l’opéra transformeront l’histoire en livret.

Cet appel s’adresse aux compositeurs de musique qui, au moment de leur candidature, remplissent les conditions suivantes :

La sélection sera principalement basée sur la qualité de la composition présentée, comme détaillé ci-dessous. Toutefois, le comité de sélection peut considérer comme un mérite supplémentaire l’expérience spécifique ou les liens du candidat avec les scènes musicales d’Italie, de Pologne ou de Finlande, y compris les représentations dans les théâtres de ces pays. L’expérience personnelle du candidat sera évaluée afin de déterminer sa capacité à participer au mieux au projet et à ses activités connexes.

Date limite de candidature : 17 septembre 2023

Kultur | lx – Arts Council Luxembourg, en partenariat avec la Cité internationale des arts à Paris, propose une résidence de recherche et de création de trois mois sur la base d’un appel à candidatures à destination d’artistes de toutes disciplines de nationalité luxembourgeoise ou résidant au Luxembourg. Ce programme de résidence a pour objectif de permettre à un.e artiste, auteur.e, danseur.se, chorégraphe ou musicien.ne de mener à bien un projet personnel de recherche et de création. Le projet sera mené de préférence en liaison avec une institution partenaire, ou une structure, ou un.e artiste, identifié sur Paris et son agglomération. Ce séjour, qui est pour l’artiste un moment privilégié de réflexion et de création, contribuera à la visibilité de la scène artistique luxembourgeoise à Paris.

La Cité internationale des arts est une résidence d’artistes qui rassemble, au cœur de Paris, des créateurs.trices et qui leur permet de mettre en œuvre un projet de production ou de recherche dans toutes les disciplines. Sur des périodes de deux mois à un an, la Cité internationale des arts offre un environnement favorable à la création, ouvert aux rencontres avec des professionnel.les du milieu culturel. Les résident.es bénéficient d’un accompagnement sur mesure de la part de l’équipe de la Cité internationale des arts. Dans le Marais (18 rue de l’Hôtel de Ville, 75004 Paris) ou à Montmartre (24 rue Norvins, 75018 Paris), la résidence permet également la rencontre et le dialogue avec plus de 300 artistes et acteurs.trices du monde de l’art de toutes les générations, de toutes les nationalités et de toutes les disciplines. En collaboration avec ses nombreux partenaires, la Cité internationale des arts ouvre plusieurs appels à candidatures thématiques et/ou sur projet tout au long de l’année.

Date limite des candidatures : 13 février 2022.

En 2022, le TalentLAB entrera dans sa septième édition. Initié en 2016, il est devenu un rendez-vous incontournable pour la création scénique et un pilier du travail d’accompagnement des talents émergents.

Le TalentLAB 2022, qui se tiendra du 2 au 12 juin 2022, tentera deprovoquer des rencontres, d’encourager la porosité entre les disciplines et de favoriser les échanges entre artistes et publics. Coïncidant avec la présidence QuattroPole de la Ville de Luxembourg, l’édition 2022 sera l’occasion d’associer des partenaires de Trèves, Saarbrücken et Metz à ce rendez-vous annuel et de mettre un coup de projecteur sur la Grande Région.

Date de limite des candidatures : 12 novembre 2021